GripGo , A Musicians Tool ?

Have you tried the GripGo yet ?  If you’re a musician you drive A LOT, to gigs, interviews/auditions, meetings with prospective employers. If you’re a Musician and a Mom like me  you drive a lot (with kids too) and want to utilize that time to get some tasks done, like talking to bandmates/agents/mgrs., listening to & learning new tunes, recording ideas on the voice recorder,  watching a music video ( at the red lights of course) With the GripGo you can do it all hands free. There are some conditions though. Read on.

I read some awful reviews about it not sticking to dashboards. Others said it was either too sticky to phones or not sticky at all when it came to phones with hard to remove “skins” or curved backs.  It would stick to windshields then fall off.

After using my husbands GripGo in his car and becoming intrigued, I purchased a GripGo for myself at Bed Bath & Beyond for $10. I attached it easily to my Volvo dashboard a few weeks ago and it’s been there ever since. After reading numerous reviews of pros and cons I have to say that they’re both right in a few ways.

It does work well on my Volvo dashboard. It didn’t work well with other dashboards in reviews I read. It didn’t work well with my BlackBerry Bold phone. GripGo was so sticky it kept removing the back cover every time I tried to pull off the phone and the battery would fall out as well, almost every time. I got a new BlackBerryZ10 phone and it works beautifully now because there’s no easily removable back cover.

I noticed that if the weathers very hot 80’s – 90’s the sticky stuff doesn’t work as well sometimes. My husband attached his GripGo to his car windshield and has an iPhone and its working well for him.

So , it seems that it works best under very particular conditions. I found what works for me and I’m LOVING having the GripGo. It keeps my eyes at dashboard level & my hands free, so I don’t look down as often trying to grab my phone. I get a bit more done so I’m not so grouchy about having to spend so much time in the car.

Wired review: http://www.wired.com/geekmom/2013/03/gripgo-phone-mount/

Image

About Deborah Magone

Professional Musician / Singer / Songwriter, Winner Producer's Choice Award for "Best Female Rock Performer 2012" - 21st Los Angeles Music Awards , Owner JoMama Music Publishing "Rock and Kick Your Ass Blues!"©dm , Music Instructor ,Producer, Reiki Practicioner, 6th dan Okinawan Seidokan Karate www.deborahmagone.com View all posts by Deborah Magone

Leave a Reply

